The house at Tyneford: [a novel]

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Plume,
Pub. Date:
c2011.
Language:
English
Description
Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and TV 's Downton Abbey will love this sweeping New York Times bestselling historical novel of love and loss. The start of an affair, the end of an era... It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford--and Elise--forever.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf28bda65-9c0a-127e-20f3-b580fed2220b
Grouping Titlehouse at tyneford
Grouping Authorsolomons natasha
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-29 03:54:02AM
Last Indexed2019-12-14 05:08:43AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Eyre, Justine.
authorSolomons, Natasha.
author2-roleEyre, Justine.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displaySolomons, Natasha
available_at_louisvilleLouisville Public Library
detailed_location_louisvilleLouisville Adult Fiction
display_description"It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau realizes her only means of escape is to advertise her services as a domestic servant in England. Fate brings her ad to the attention of Christopher Rivers, handsome scion of the aristocratic Rivers family and master of Tyneford. An anxious Elise arrives at Tyneford and immediately falls under its spell. When Christopher's young son, Kit, returns home, the two strike up an unlikely friendship that will change Tyneford--and Elise--forever"-- Provided by publisher.
format_category_louisvilleBooks
format_louisvilleBook
idf28bda65-9c0a-127e-20f3-b580fed2220b
isbn9780452297647
9781982467203
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b19127236.i44152036Louisville Adult FictionFIC SOL1falsefalseOn Shelflsfca
hoopla:MWT10024500Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10024500?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_louisvillepaperback book
last_indexed2019-12-14T12:08:43.7Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_louisvilleFIC SOL
local_time_since_added_louisvilleYear
owning_library_louisvilleLouisville Public Library
owning_location_louisvilleLouisville Public Library
primary_isbn9780452297647
publishDate2011
2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b19127236BookBooksEnglishPlume, c2011.359 p. : music ; 21 cm.
hoopla:MWT10024500eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2012.1 online resource (1 audio file (14hr., 11 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_louisville
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19127236.i44152036On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 129, 3, 131, 132, 133, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
seriesListen Alaska
series_with_volumeListen Alaska|
subject_facetAristocracy (Social class) -- England -- Fiction
Domestic fiction
England -- Social life and customs -- Fiction
Great Britain -- History -- George VI, 1936-1952 -- Fiction
Household employees -- Fiction
Immigrants -- Fiction
Jews -- England -- Fiction
title_displayThe house at Tyneford
title_fullThe house at Tyneford / Natasha Solomons
The house at Tyneford : [a novel] [electronic resource] Solomons, Natasha.
title_shortThe house at Tyneford
title_sub[a novel]
topic_facetAristocracy (Social class)
History
Household employees
Immigrants
Jews
Social life and customs