Effective March 14, 2020 in response to COVID-19, the following Louisville facilities are closed until further notice: Recreation & Senior Center, Library, Museum and Arts Center. For more information, click here

Into the tall, tall grass

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry Books,
Pub. Date:
[2020]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
A girl journeys across her family's land to save her grandmother's life in this captivating and magical debut that's perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish . Yolanda Rodríguez-O'Connell has a secret. All the members of her family have a magical gift--all, that is, except for Yolanda. Still, it's something she can never talk about, or the townsfolk will call her family brujas --witches. When her grandmother, Wela, falls into an unexplained sleep, Yolanda is scared. Her father is off fighting in a faraway war, her mother died long ago, and Yolanda has isolated herself from her best friend and twin sister. If she loses her grandmother, who will she have left? When a strange grass emerges in the desert behind their house, Wela miraculously wakes, begging Yolanda to take her to the lone pecan tree left on their land. Determined not to lose her, Yolanda sets out on this journey with her sister, her ex-best friend, and a boy who has a crush on her. But what is the mysterious box that her grandmother needs to find? And how will going to the pecan tree make everything all right? Along the way, Yolanda discovers long-buried secrets that have made their family gift a family curse. But she also finds the healing power of the magic all around her, which just might promise a new beginning.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID79bbee55-17ea-b21a-d0ad-f579c3d1e3eb
Grouping Titleinto the tall tall grass
Grouping Authorryon loriel
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-05-20 03:58:49AM
Last Indexed2020-05-25 06:35:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorRyon, Loriel,
author_displayRyon, Loriel
collection_louisvilleOn Order
detailed_location_louisvilleLouisville Public Library On Order
display_descriptionYolanda sets out with family and friends to help her grandmother and discovers long-buried secrets about a family curse and the healing power of the magic surrounding her.
format_category_louisvilleBooks
format_louisvilleBook
id79bbee55-17ea-b21a-d0ad-f579c3d1e3eb
isbn9781534449671
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b29507601.o20854146Loveland Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderlvj
ils:.b29507601.o23080292Louisville Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderlsfnj
ils:.b29507601.o23138531Broomfield On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordermdfcy
last_indexed2020-05-25T12:35:42.623Z
lexile_score660
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_louisvilleON ORDER
local_time_since_added_louisville2 Months
Day
Month
On Order
Quarter
Six Months
Week
Year
owning_library_louisvilleLouisville Public Library On Order
owning_location_louisvilleLouisville Public Library On Order
Louisville Teen Collection On Order
primary_isbn9781534449671
publishDate2020
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b29507601BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishMargaret K. McElderry Books, [2020]pages cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_louisville
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b29507601.o23080292On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAbility -- Fiction
Friendship -- Fiction
Grandmothers -- Fiction
Magic -- Fiction
Secrets -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_displayInto the tall, tall grass
title_fullInto the tall, tall grass / Loriel Ryon
title_shortInto the tall, tall grass
topic_facetAbility
Friendship
Grandmothers
Magic
Secrets
Sisters