The leadership secrets of Colin Powell

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of books like Get Better or Get Beaten and What It Takes to Be no.1, comes Oren Harari's Leadership Secrets from Colin Powell. Colin Powell is one of the most recognizable and highly regarded leaders in the world. As secretary of state, his face appears on the front page of hundreds of newspapers across the world several times per week. Colin Powell is nothing less than a classic American success story. The son of immigrants, Powell was born in Harlem and grew up in the South Bronx. After stints in Korea, Vietnam and Germany he made his most important marks in the Pentagon bureaucracy, and became Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff before becoming secretary of state in 2001. His biography, My American Journey, earned out its 6.5 million dollar advance (according to the op. ed. editor of The New York Times). This book will be modeled after Get Better or Get Beaten, with 20-22 short chapters (18 of those devoted to the leadership secrets), with several subheads per chapter, and Powell Rules at the end of each chapter. Sample chapters include: Don't be afraid to push the envelope: You don't know what you can get away with until you try. It's people, not organizati
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5851ab4b-34e6-6307-82a3-35364c755516
Grouping Title leadership secrets of colin powell
Grouping Author harari oren
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-04-25 03:54:10AM
Last Indexed 2019-04-25 04:34:20AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Harari, Oren.
author_display Harari, Oren
available_at_louisville Louisville Public Library
detailed_location_louisville Louisville Adult NonFiction, Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

The Wall Street Journal, BusinessWeek, New York Times, and USA Today Business Bestseller!

WORDS, WISDOM, AND INSIGHTS FROM ONE OF AMERICA'S MOST COMMANDING FIGURES

Inspiration from the man who went from humble beginnings in Harlem to the office of Secretary of State

Colin Powell is the classic American success story. Born in Harlem to immigrant parents, Powell rose through the ranks of the U.S. military to become chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and a soft-spoken, steel-willed Desert Storm hero. Always seemingly one step ahead of both allies and competitors, he quickly became one of America's most trusted and beloved public icons, acknowledged for his courage, his compassion, and his ability to forge victory under the most trying circumstances.

The Leadership Secrets of Colin Powell recounts Powell's core beliefs on leadership, negotiation, self-knowledge, and more.

format_category_louisville Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_louisville Book, eAudiobook
id 5851ab4b-34e6-6307-82a3-35364c755516
isbn 9780071388597, 9780071472968
item_details ils:.b14615824|.i24939791|Louisville Adult NonFiction|658.4092 HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 19, 2017|lsnfa||, overdrive:05cbb63d-2d9f-4340-a596-0d8ece72630f|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_louisville , hardcover book
last_indexed 2019-04-25T10:34:20.403Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_louisville 658.4092 HAR
owning_library_louisville Louisville Public Library
owning_location_louisville Louisville Public Library
primary_isbn 9780071388597
publishDate 2002
record_details ils:.b14615824|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|McGraw-Hill,|c2002.|viii, 278 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:05cbb63d-2d9f-4340-a596-0d8ece72630f|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|McGraw-Hill||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_louisville
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:05cbb63d-2d9f-4340-a596-0d8ece72630f -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:.b14615824 .i24939791 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 128, 129, 3, 131, 132, 133, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
subject_facet Political leadership -- United States, Powell, Colin L. -- Views on leadership
title_display The leadership secrets of Colin Powell
title_full The Leadership Secrets of Colin Powell, The leadership secrets of Colin Powell / Oren Harari
title_short The leadership secrets of Colin Powell
title_sub
topic_facet Business, Nonfiction, Political leadership, Powell, Colin L, Views on leadership