Justinian's flea: plague, empire, and the birth of Europe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Viking,
Pub. Date:
2007.
Language:
English
Description
A richly told story of the collision between nature’s smallest organism and history’s mightiest empire The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome’s fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. In his capital at Constantinople he built the world’s most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome’s fortunes for the next five hundred years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed five thousand people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself. In Justinian’s Flea , William Rosen tells the story of history’s first pandemic—a plague seven centuries before the Black Death that killed tens of millions, devastated the empires of Persia and Rome, left a path of victims from Ireland to Iraq, and opened the way for the armies of Islam. Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly’s The Great Mortality , John Barry’s The Great Influenza , and Jared Diamond’s Collapse .
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4596afe3-bd40-731d-8eec-432dcc4340f9
Grouping Title justinian s flea plague empire and the birth of europe
Grouping Author rosen william
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-15 03:46:03AM
Last Indexed 2019-05-26 04:16:30AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Whitener, Barrett, 1960-
author Rosen, William, 1926-
author2-role Whitener, Barrett,1960-, hoopla digital.
author_display Rosen, William
available_at_louisville Louisville Public Library
detailed_location_louisville Louisville Adult NonFiction
display_description The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself.Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.
format_category_louisville Books
format_louisville Book
id 4596afe3-bd40-731d-8eec-432dcc4340f9
isbn 9780670038558, 9781400123858
item_details hoopla:MWT10755513||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755513||Available Online||||, ils:.b16809336|.i2306898x|Louisville Adult NonFiction|949.5013 ROS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jan 22, 2018|lsnfa||
itype_louisville hardcover book
last_indexed 2019-05-26T10:16:30.225Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_louisville 949.5013 ROS
owning_library_louisville Louisville Public Library
owning_location_louisville Louisville Public Library
primary_isbn 9780670038558
publishDate 2007
record_details hoopla:MWT10755513|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2007.|1 online resource (1 audio file (720 min.)) : digital., ils:.b16809336|Book|Books||English|Viking,|2007.|367 p. : maps ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_louisville
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b16809336 .i2306898x On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 128, 129, 3, 131, 132, 133, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
subject_facet Byzantine Empire -- History -- Justinian I, 527-565, Byzantine Empire -- History -- To 527, Plague -- History -- To 1500
title_display Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe
title_full Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe / William Rosen, Justinian's flea : plague, empire, and the birth of Europe [electronic resource] / William Rosen
title_short Justinian's flea :
title_sub plague, empire, and the birth of Europe
topic_facet History, Plague